Break Free of Your Chains

Grace_Dove-change“I’m constantly disappointed in myself. Why is it that I always seem to keep doing the things I wish I didn’t do and never seem to do the things I know I should? Isn’t God getting tired of me?”

Sound familiar? Well, it’s a common struggle that even the apostle Paul experienced. “I do not understand what I do,” he said, “For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.” (Romans 7:15)

You want to hear some good news? And Pope Francis tries to remind us of this all the time through his words and his actions. The good news is that we don’t have to stay in this trap of discouragement. We can break the chains of it’s imprisonment. Paul tells us in Romans 8 that the key is to stop focusing on the “law”, this is the man made “law”, much like the Pharisees imposed upon the Jewish people. So many laws that it seemed impossible for anyone to get to heaven. Instead of focusing on the “law” Paul and Pope Francis both agree that we need to switch our focus over to Jesus. There is nothing we can do on our own about our sinfulness, no matter what any pastor might tell you. We can only get through life and get to God Himself through the strength of His Son Jesus Christ.

So, the answer is not to try harder to be good at keeping the rules, but, instead, we need to focus on the One who shows us mercy and learn how to cooperate with the Holy Spirit who can change us.

Remember, when we spend too much time focusing on the “law” we are constantly reminded that we will NEVER be good enough to deserve Gods grace. However, when we focus on Jesus, we will become more like Him. So, break those chains that bind you and keep you from focusing on what is really important!

Please Post Here

