Finding God and Hope in the Darkness

It was in deep catastrophic grief that seemed to prompt the psalmist who cried out to God in anguish: “My tears have been my food day and night, while they continually say to me, ‘Where is your God?'”  (Psalm 42:3). There is a struggle in his heart that had likewise been turned inward. While all the world went on with its usual business he carried in his heart the need for a deep and complete healing.

It is only when we ourselves submit to our own brokenness to the good and great Shepherd of our hearts can we find the peace that will allow us to respond to life: “Why are you cast down, O my soul? And why are you disquieted within me? Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him for the help of His countenance” (Psalm 42:5)

Hope in God, it’s the only solution for the deep traumas we suffer of the heart.

We also have been made to search for God, to “grope for Him,” as Paul put it so well in Acts 17:27. The good news is that He is not very hard to find at all, for “He is not far from each one of us.” He desires to make Himself known. “There is a property in God of thirst and longing. He hath longing to have us,” wrote Dame Julian of Norwich many centuries ago.

However, before we come to know Christ, we grope for God in the darkness. However, if we continue to earnestly search for Him in that darkness, He will make Himself known to us, for He rewards all those who diligently seek Him, no matter how dark it may be. When we do this, He will call to us softly: “Here I am.” And He patiently will wait to hear our reply of “I found You!”

Remember that no one is truly hopeless who has hope in the Lord.

“Seek the Lord while He may be found, call upon Him while He is near.” Isaiah 55:6

2 responses to “Finding God and Hope in the Darkness

  1. It is always nice to know that you have touched someone. Whether it’s one soul or a thousand, it’s what He wants us all to do, reach out and share the Good News. God Bless you!

  2. Love this post it has taken me back twenty-five years ago when I was in the gutter homeless and broken, I cried out, “Can you save me now?” He did and the rest can of the story can be found on my blog. I truly loved this post it leaves singing praises to our King. Peace be with you and God Bless, In the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit, Amen.

Please Post Here

