The Gospel Reading of John 17:11-19

Gospel Reading

Lifting up His eyes to heaven, Jesus prayed, saying: “Holy Father, keep them in your name that you have given me, so that they may be one just as we are one. When I was with them I protected them in your name that you gave me, and I guarded them, and none of them was lost except the son of destruction, in order that the Scripture might be fulfilled. But now I am coming to you. I speak this in the world so that they may share my joy completely. I gave them your word, and the world hated them, because they do not belong to the world any more than I belong to the world. I do not ask that you take them out of the world but that you keep them from the Evil One. They do not belong to the world any more than I belong to the world. Consecrate them in the truth. Your word is truth. As you sent me into the world, so I sent them into the world. And I consecrate myself for them, so that they also may be consecrated in truth.”

“I consecrate myself for them, so that they also may be consecrated in truth.”

Did you hear that? Take a moment to set aside all other thoughts and concerns in your life and focus on that amazing truth. He, Jesus Christ says he has consecrated himself for us! He, the sinless one, the pure and holy one the righteous Son of God chose to devote his entire life for us, for you. Who could imagine a love so incredible?

Usually when we think about consecration as something that is set apart and separated from the common use and reserved for only sacred reasons. We often think of a church as being consecrated or a chalice as being consecrated. Often times a person who dedicates their entire life and service and worship of God can be thought of as being consecrated, such as a priest, brother or sister. Maybe sometimes we might as well feel consecrated when we try to separate ourselves from the world when we try to serve God as best we can.

In the Gospel reading here Jesus makes it clear that he considers every single one of us to be worth his devotion and his dedication. He sets himself apart for us and does so willingly.

Jesus didn’t wait for us to start helping ourselves in order to receive help from God. Instead he consecrated himself to us before we consecrated ourselves to anything at all. But it is true that Jesus wants for us to consecrate ourselves to him but he also wants to make sure that we do it out of love and gratitude and not out of feeling like it is something we must do to avoid retribution or rejection. He already belongs to us and all he wants is for us to belong to Him.

Take a good look at yourself in the mirror sometime and tell yourself that you are highly valued by Jesus Christ. The Lord of all creation truly considered each and every one of us worth dying for. Believe that He believes you are worth it. Believe that He treasures you so much that He is consecrated to you for all of eternity. Believe that He will never abandon you or leave you alone and that He will never forget you.

Prayer:

“Jesus, I am humbled by your commitment to me. Come, Lord, and fill my heart to the fullest. Help me to consecrate my life to you.”

Amen

Please Post Here

