April 16th, Wednesday of Holy Week

Finding a Sense of Peace

“What are you willing to give me if I hand him over to you?”  Matthew 26:15

30_pieces_of_silverIt is easy to condemn Judas’ cruel betrayal and walk away feeling smug and self-satisfied. If I do that, I can close my eyes to the times I have compromised my deepest convictions for the sake of retaining a position or have remained silent when a person or group of people are being treated unjustly. Security and social acceptance are just two of the ways I am tempted to compromise my values.

In the end, however, being true to our convictions is necessary if we want to live in true freedom. A couple of years ago, I was doing some work for an organization that was moving further and further away from its core mission to foster living in faith, hope and love. As time went on, my discomfort grew so great that I finally made the decision to resign. The price was losing work I enjoyed, but the great payoff was a deep sense of peace.

Read: Isaiah 50: 4-9, Psalm 69: 8-10, 21-22, 31, 33-34, Matthew 26: 14-25

Please Post Here

