March 28th, Friday, Third Week of Lent

Let’s Get to Work

“You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength.”  Mark 12:30

Lent causes me to examine the ALL of this verse. Does God have ALL my heart, stretching it and sometimes allowing it to be broken in order to get more deeply in? Can I locate my soul as the place of God residing within me? ALL my mind? (Some vigorous scrubbing needed here!) Do I use ALL my strength for loving and building God’s Kingdom? Wow! I’ve got a lot of work to do! What tools do I need for the job? Prayer, fasting and almsgiving. Simple, natural cleansing products. Not a lot of artificial ingredients or fancy perfumes.

The six weeks of Lent transition us from deep winter into fresh spring, giving me an opportunity to clear the cobwebs of my spiritual practice, to clean up my living, to find my soul under the compost of my false self. Let’s get to work, so that on Easter Sunday we may be cleansed, transformed and glowing with a love that is ALL encompassing!

Read: Hosea 14: 2-10, Psalm 81: 6-11, 14, 17, Mark 12: 28-34

Please Post Here

