Why Do We Always Ask Why?

Do  you find yourself guilty of asking God why a lot? Especially if you find yourself in a tragic situation. Do you find yourself always saying “Why? Why is this happening to me?”

Let’s stop for a minute and pretend that God actually answered that question for you. Would His answer and his explanation change anything? The tragedy and its effects would still be there with you and the pain that you were suffering because of it would still be there just like before you asked the question and got your answer. Exactly what would you have learned?

In reality, the real reason we might be asking that question of God is trying to find out if God still loves us. What we really might be asking him is “God, do You love me? Will You take care of me in my sorrow and pain? You won’t leave me alone will You?” Could it be that deep inside we ask the why question is because we’re afraid that God doesn’t really care about us and so we ask for an explanation instead?

What we need to do is try to learn to say: “Lord, I believe, I don’t understand, and I’ll probably never grasp all the reasons bad things happen, but I know for certain that You do love me and are with me always.”

It does often take a lot more faith to be able to go through something victoriously than it does to simply be delivered from it. We need to put our faith in God and then we’ll come out stronger on the other side of it all.

Prayer:

God, I believe in You, even when circumstances try to fill my mind with doubt. Help me to remember Your love for me and to put my faith in You, no matter what happens.

Please Post Here

