Feast of Pentecost

This Sunday is the end of our Easter season and we celebrate the Holy Spirit’s decent on the apostles and Mother Mary. What abundant graces were poured out on these holy people in the upper room.

Do you know those same graces are poured out on you at Confirmation? Every day we can pray for those graces to be stirred up, fired up, and the love of the Lord poured out to all peoples around us, just like the Apostles were sent out on fire, tongues of fire descended on them in the upper room and they went out to the world.

In our bible study we’ve been starting each session with the prayer:

COME HOLY SPIRIT

Come Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of your faithful and kindle in them the fire of your love.
Send forth your Spirit, and they shall be created.
And You shall renew the face of the earth.  Let us pray. O, God, who by the light of the Holy Spirit, did instruct the hearts of the faithful, grant that by the same Holy Spirit we may be truly wise and ever enjoy His consolations. Through Christ Our Lord. Amen.

Below is a prayer to use for petition to the Holy Spirit. A novena prayer like we had at church for the Feast of St. Joseph The Worker this year.

Prayer to the Holy Spirit for a Favor

O Holy Spirit, You are the Third Person of the Blessed Trinity. You are the Spirit of truth, love and holiness, proceeding from the Father and the Son, and equal to Them in all things. I adore You and love You with all my heart. Teach me to know and to seek God, by whom and for whom I was created. Fill my heart with a holy fear and a great love for Him. Give me compunction and patience, and do not let me fall into sin.

Increase faith, hope, and charity in me and bring forth in me all the virtues proper to my state of life. Help me to grow in the four cardinal virtues, the seven gifts, and the twelve fruits.

Make me a faithful follower of Jesus, an obedient child of the Church, and a help to my neighbor. Give me the grace to keep the commandments and to receive the sacraments worthily. Raise me to holiness in the state of life to which You have called me, and lead me through a happy death to everlasting life, through Jesus Christ, our Lord.

Grant me also, O Holy Spirit, Giver of all good gifts, the special favor for which I ask [name the favor here], if it be for Your honor and glory and for my well being. Amen.

The four cardinal virtues:  prudence, justice, fortitude (or courage), and temperance (or moderation).

The seven gifts of the Holy Spirit: Isaiah 11: 2-3 wisdom, understanding, counsel, fortitude (or courage), knowledge, piety, and fear of the Lord.

The twelve Fruits of the Holy Spirit: charity (or love), joy, peace, patience, benignity (or kindness), goodness, longanimity (or long suffering), mildness, faith, modesty, continency, and chastity.

Jesus asked Peter in the Gospel today:  Peter do you love Me?  Peter do you love Me?  Peter do you love Me? He asks us the same thing, may we answer with an absolute YES and may we invoke the help of the Spirit to send forth that love!!

Blessings to all!

 

Please Post Here

