God’s Promises to Pray-ers: I Am With You

Of all the losses that the human race suffered when Adam and Ever driven out of the Garden, is one of the most grievous loss is the direct and immediate contact with God. That relationship would now have to be built and nourished at a distance so to speak. Because our minds are clouded with sin and weakness, we tend not to believe in things we simply can’t see or touch. We are all doubting Thomases at times.

Sometimes God may seem really remote or not even there at all. Pink Floyd has a line on a song of theirs that says “Is there anybody out there?” In our darker moments of weakness and despair, we probably have feared that nobody was listening to our cries.

Sure, God no longer physically walks on this earth as he did in the person of Jesus Christ, but He is always present in so many other ways. “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you”  (Hebrews 13:5) His Spirit fills the universe. His Word reveals His mind and purpose and mighty acts. The splash of baptismal water is our adoption ceremony and the seal of His ownership claims on us as His children. The Supper merges His divine body and blood with ours.

He’s near to you, me and everyone, right now. Just turn around, you’ll find him if you look and listen.

“Here I am standing right beside you, here I am, do not be afraid, here I am waiting like a lover, here I am, I am here.”

Tom Booth – Here I Am

Please Post Here

