I Thirst

Continuing with the statements from the Cross we look at the simple yet agonizing words coming from the Cross “I thirst.” 

After enduring what had to be just unthinkable stress, imprisonment, trials, floggings and then being crucified, the Son of God who made the waters of the world is now experiencing extreme dehydration and thirst. In this short statement, Jesus has fulfilled another prophecy. “They put gall in my food and gave me vinegar for my thirst.” (Psalm 69:21)

However, there is even a deeper meaning to His thirst as Psalm 42 puts it, “As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When can I go and meet with God?” Jesus cried out with the psalmist, He was thirsting for the presence and the fellowship of God, His Father during their separation while He was suffering on the Cross. There was not going to be any amount of water that could quench that type of thirst.

PRAYER

Lord, help me to be able to say with the psalmist, my soul pants for you, O God. May I have that deep desire for Your presence and for fellowship with You.

Amen

Please Post Here

