Be the Moon – Reflect the Son

“During the meal Jesus took bread, and gave it to his disciples, ‘Take and eat it,’ he said, ‘this is my body.'”

Matthew 26:26

The first person to receive the Eucharist was Mary. She perfectly said “Yes” to have Jesus’ body in her body. She is our model of fully receiving Jesus and beaming him forth to the world.

I have a T-shirt that has the moon on front with the words, “Be the Moon.” On the back of the shirt is the cross of Jesus Christ with the command, “Reflect the Son.” That is what Mary did perfectly and that is what we strive for. The moon generates no light on its own. Without the sun, it is just a pitch black, pockmarked rock that cannot be seen. The only way we can see its beauty is because of the sun. And we know that when it is properly positioned, it beams!

Mary is the moon. She is the symbol for all people to become the moon by reflecting the Son. She put herself in proper position and beamed Jesus Christ. She took Jesus into her body and let his body dictate all her body would do in life. She knew that her body was not her own, that she belonged to God and she was to glorify God with her body. (2 Cor. 4:15)

Mary states the purpose of her body, “My being proclaims the greatness of the Lord, my spirit finds joy in God my savior.” (Luke 1:46) Mary’s body was for Christ. All she ever did was to joyfully proclaim the greatness of God’s saving activity and his offer of life following upon life.

Mary fulfilled Jesus’ command to take and eat his body. Jesus’ body would light every step of her path with perfect love. Mary said “Yes” to perfect communion with Jesus and lived life on his terms, not her own. In being the moon, Mary showed us all about living according to the light of Jesus love, “In this is love, not that we have loved God, but the he loved us.” (1 John 4:10)

Jesus comes to you and me in the Eucharist and says, “Take and eat my body. Be the moon that reflects me. I give you everything. Fully live the light of my love. Be like Mary and let my body of life dictate all that you think, say and do. When you are in that proper position, my life will beam through you to pierce the darkness. And remember ther eis only one thing I want from you. Everything. As I give you my body and blood so I want yours.”

God’s will!

+Fr. John

Please Post Here

